You must be licensed and work continuously for a minimum of 12 months. Apply for the 73-20 license, including the presentation of your fingerprints. Upon approval, take and pass the 3-20 public appraiser exam with PearsonVUE. To obtain a Florida public appraiser license, you must be at least 18 years old.
You must also be a citizen of the United States or a temporary resident with a work authorization from the United States Immigration and Naturalization Services. There are additional prerequisites depending on whether you are a Florida resident or not. Workers' Compensation Resources Personal Information Laws and Notification of Security Violations Legally Licensed Attorneys duly authorized to practice law in the courts of this state, and in accordance with the Florida Bar Association, shall not be licensed under the provisions of the Code of Texas insurance to authorize them to adjust or participate in the adjustment of any claim, loss or damage arising under insurance policies or contracts. To apply for a non-resident license, Florida grants non-resident licensing privileges to anyone who holds a license that has a reciprocal agreement with Florida.
Check the reciprocal states of Florida to check the status of your state. You must have a residence license from your state of residence, as long as your state has adjuster license requirements. Residents of states with no licensing requirements who have a Texas non-resident license enjoy reciprocity with Florida. Florida's agent and appraiser licenses are perpetual, meaning there is no license renewal.
However, perpetual license statuses only apply to licenses that require and have a current appointment or that do not require an appointment. Failure to comply with continuing education requirements may result in the cancellation of an appointment, which could lead to the termination of the license. Licenses will expire if more than 48 months pass without an appointment. Failure to complete continuing education may result in the cancellation of the appointment (s).
A public appraiser is defined as any person, except an attorney, who prepares, completes, or submits an insurance claim form for an insured person or a third party for a price (money, commission, or anything of value). An independent appraiser means a person licensed as an all-line adjuster who is self-appointed or appointed and employed by an independent adjustment firm or other independent appraiser, and who undertakes, on behalf of an insurer, to determine and determine the amount of any claim, loss or damage payable under of an insurance contract or undertakes to effect the settlement of such claim, loss or damage. While a public appraiser can also be an appraiser, they cannot hold both positions for the same case in Florida. The Florida Department of Financial Services oversees the licensing process and has specific guidelines for obtaining a Florida public appraiser license.
For a person with the right skills and aptitudes, becoming a public adjuster is a challenging but rewarding career. Florida and many states require public insurance adjusters to be licensed by the state government. The state of Florida requires all public insurance adjusters to submit a copy of their fingerprints before they can obtain a license. If you are an adjuster with an establishment related to your residence, you must obtain an adjustment firm license for that location, unless exempted by Florida Statute 626,112 (a).
Once you have your bond in hand, the next step is to file your application for a license as a Florida public insurance adjuster. Applicants must submit their Florida public appraiser applications through the Department of Financial Services' Licensing Office online portal. Unlike public appraisers, independent appraisers represent an insurance company and will not work for a private client. Attorneys duly authorized to practice law in the courts of this state and who meet the requirements of the Florida Bar Association shall not be licensed under the provisions of the Texas Insurance Code to authorize them to adjust or participate in the adjustment of any claim, loss or damage that arises under insurance policies or contracts.
The Central Insurance School is Florida's premier training option for the public appraiser license for ages 3 to 20. . .